ATHENA

THE GODDESS OF WISDOM AND WARFARE

See definition of “athena” below

Running tomorrow in my own version of a marathon, the Salt Lake City 5K.  Starts at Liberty Park and finishes at the Gateway fountain and my goal is to jog nonstop and finish in less than 43 minutes.  For someone who has struggled her entire life to finish 1 mile without walking, 3.3 miles is the equivalent of a marathon for my body.  32 lbs ago I could not have run a block without severe pain in my joints and today I can finish 4 miles in under an hour and I feel great.  As a registered Athena runner (racing category based on weight rather than age) I plan to use my wisdom and warfare attitude to the end with a smile on my face and proud that I have turned a corner in my life.   

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “ATHENA

  1. Go SHANNON! I wish I could be there to run it with you. I am so impressed with how much weight you have lost that is so amazing! Here in England they measure by a ‘Stone’ which 1 Stone=14lbs so you have lost 2 1/2 stone! Thats is pretty amazing! Love and miss you!

  2. Pingback: LAME « MUSINGS FROM THE FEED ZONE

Leave a Reply

